New Year’s Resolutions

It’s that time of year! Time to start fresh and make tons of resolutions that I will only follow the first month. Just kidding! I hope it lasts a little longer than that..

I always try to really think about my resolutions. This year, I have stayed away from writing things that are just unrealistic. Things that I know will make me feel like a failure if I don’t follow through. I will workout 5 days a week. Yea right! I will always eat healthy. That’s just crazy talk, especially since we are moving to Alabama very soon. Bring on the southern food! I will drink 8 glasses of water a day. I will brush my dog everyday. I will be fluent in a new language. That’s all fine and dandy, until you realize that you are asking a lot from yourself. You would have to make a checklist for the 52 weeks in a year and check them off every week! Who really wants to do that?!

I decided that this year is going to be simple. I don’t want to make a list of resolutions that I know I am unable to fulfill after the first month, when all of the hype is gone from the new year. Am I right? I have thought a lot about what I want my resolutions to be for the past couple of weeks. I’ve made lists, crossed through some, wrote new ideas, until I found the perfect things that will make my year the best one yet. (At least I hope so!)

(I would like to apologize in advance for how long this post is. I love writing, so when I get started on something I am passionate about, it’s hard to stop!)

My list

Continue to grow my faith. Faith is extremely important to Tony and me. We of course always want to grow our faith. This isn’t necessarily a new year’s resolution, but when it comes time for the new year, it’s always nice to reexamine what you want to keep doing. So this one, it’s more of a “keep on keeping on” resolution.

Break into the blogging world. This one has already been broken into to, since I started in December. What I am really aiming for is finding my true passion. I don’t know why I didn’t think of this before, but I am soooo glad I decided to do this! I am not much of a journal person, but I do love my journals.. if that makes sense. I own a million journals and notebooks just to make lists. I am an extreme list maker. I am sure I have lists in every drawer, nook, and cranny in this apartment. That being said, I do have an exciting new planner on the way that I will show you guys once it arrives! But back to the blog, having this will allow me to share everything I love with all of you. I love that I can have conversations with people across the world who have the same interests as me! I am so excited to watch this community grow in 2016!

Step out of my comfort zone and try new things. I think sometimes we forget that we really only do have one life to live. YOLO. I really don’t mean this in that sense whatsoever, I just mean that this life is all we have. Now let that sink in for a second. Pretty crazy right? I always tend to think about these things when the new year rolls around. But isn’t it just super scary to think that every decision you make is one you are making for one time only? I may think about that more than the normal person, which is why I probably live my life the way I do. I guess I always want to go for more, try a little harder at things, take risks, and experience all there is to experience. I don’t want to reach the age of 100 (I have high expectations) and say “what if?”. I want to know that every time a new year comes around, that I did everything I could have possibly done to live that year as amazing as possible. So, stepping out of my comfort zone and trying new things are the best ways I could think of to explain everything I just said! Now, if taking self-defense classes, learning sign language, or becoming an entrepreneur (all goals I have) are things that would allow you to step out of your comfort zone, then those are definitely New Year’s resolutions if you ask me! I just decided not to list the specifics. 🙂

Volunteer. This is self-explanatory! I just want to serve where ever I am needed. I truly believe you gain happiness through serving because you know that you are doing it to help others out. Knowing you are getting nothing in return (except the joy you see in others) is priceless.

Evolve my morning routine. This one isn’t specific. I don’t need to write down a play by play and make sure I check off my list every morning. I like to plan, but I also like to know that I can do whatever I want to do, without having a certain time or order to do it in. One thing I am going to change: looking at my phone first thing in the morning. My alarm goes off, I roll over, and scroll through my emails and notifications. I wouldn’t say I am obsessed with my phone, but I think I have replaced the newspaper with my phone. How terrible is that? We live in Germany, so I feel so disconnected with the rest of the world. When I am going to sleep, people are just eating dinner back home! When I wake up, I like to see everything that I missed. Hence, sitting on my phone in bed for forever. I know this is something I can easily change once we get back to the states. Another thing I am going to change: become a morning workout person. I would love to wake up and the first thing I do is drink a tall glass of water (to wake me up) and go straight to working out. Once you do this, you can shower and be ready for the day! I always say I am going to workout at the end of the day with Tony, and then I get really tired throughout the day and I end up skipping the gym. Not good! Overall, I just want to make my morning time “me” time. To do this, I will need to invest in an alarm clock that isn’t my phone, go workout, eat a healthy breakfast and drink my coffee, then see what is going on with my phone!

 

What are some of yall’s New Year’s resolutions?!

Have a safe and happy New Year!

Heart Jenn

 

8 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Julia says:

    Great list! I work at a shelter, so I always get exciting when I hear people say they want to volunteer more – especially when it’s *after* Christmas. I wrote a bit about this on my blog – how people feel very altruistic up until December 25, and then, come January, a lot of non-profits are back to struggling to find people to fill in gaps. So good for you that you’re making this a goal in 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. purpledivaa says:

    I’ve been trying not to write a New Year post, but this has just made me want to.
    I’ve decided I don’t want unrealistic goals either so I’m sticking with improving on the goals I already made like being a better Christian. I’m still growing and I hope to grow some more this year. I’m one year at my place of work and it’s been great so I look forward to this year being greater and full of more good memories.
    Happy New Year

    Like

  3. Rosy says:

    I love all your resolutions. You are so right about setting up goals that you can actually continue after the first few weeks. It’s easy to get caught up in the “fresh start” mentality and over-promise ourselves.

    Like

  4. dcarmack says:

    Most people in the US will make the resolution to ‘lose weight’ a part of their list, very close to the top of the list. Here are my thoughts on that resolution. http://dcarmack.com/2016/01/02/lost-forever/

    I enjoyed your rationale for your items, and lucky you that losing weight is not one of yours. When you get to Alabama you may want to review my thoughts on losing weight, since it is one of the heaviest states in the States..

    Like

Leave a Reply

