Swiffer Wet Jet Refill Hack

swiffer-wet-jet-refill-homemade

Photo Cred: Surviving The Stores 

I am slowly but surely trying to exchange all of our toxic household cleaners into non-toxic ones. One of my favorites so far is the Swiffer hack. I am obsessed with using the Swiffer for cleaning that I basically do it 7 days a week. It’s amazing how much dirt this thing picks up! And no, I am not getting paid to talk about this.. It’s just that great. 🙂

Anyway, I was getting very tired of constantly buying the refill and seeing the money fly out of our pockets. I searched on Pinterest for alternatives and that’s when I came across this amazing Swiffer hack.

This specific hack uses a wrench to take the lid off of the Refill bottle. I tried boiling water and sticking the lid in the water for about 30 seconds. Then using a rag, I removed the lid (Using my muscles, of course). If this doesn’t work, I’m sure the wrench is the perfect alternative. Or maybe it should be your first choice. Whatever works for you!

After the lid is removed, feel free to fill it with any homemade cleaner. I found that water, vinegar, dish soap, and essential oils worked beautifully. The essential oils are a must, unless you are a fan of smelling vinegar..

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 filtered water
  • 1/2 white distilled vinegar
  • A few drops of dish soap
  • A few drops of your favorite essential oil

Fill it up, shake, and wala!

How much easier can it get?!

Enjoy your chemical-free floors!

Heart Jenn

 

Leave a Reply

